Fruity Fall Pancakes

With the cooler temps, overpriced leather jackets, and hunter boots I pretend can actually fit around my calves, also comes a slight change in eating habits for me. Along with a sudden desire to sip tomato soup and make everything with canned pumpkin, I also like more hearty breakfasts full of fruits, nuts and oats…and sugary maple syrup, obviously.

For some reason I’ve been subscribed to a few crazy women’s magazines lately, things like “Health for Older Chicks” and “Thrifty Crafts for Spry Old Ladies.” I jest, but not really. Who knows how they appear in my mailbox, but they do, and because of general laziness I read these gems of wisdom meant for cougar moms  looking to hit on their personal trainers.

In one of these magazines I found a recipe for fruity pancakes and thought I’d give them a whirl. I’m glad I did because not only are they healthy, they taste damn good, too.

The base is whole-wheat flour and ground almonds with some oats thrown in for good measure. Don’t worry-it’s not some crunchy mess that begs for floss-the pancakes are silky and easy to pour. Other healthy things that constitute these babies are almond milk, mashed bananas and frozen berries. Think of it as a smoothie pancake.

So thanks, mysterious magazines, for helping me to get in that “good fiber every over-50 woman needs” and those nutrients “that help combat the effects of menopause.” Because even though I could have sworn you’re a cosmic joke to make me even more fearful of turning 30 in 2 years, your pancakes did good 😉

[Adapted from Self magazine. Makes roughly (8) 5-inch pancakes]

Equipment:

  • Food processor

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup whole-wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup chopped almonds pulsed in a food processor
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 medium banana
  • 1 1/2 cups almond milk
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. almond extract
  • 1 cup frozen berries like blueberries and raspberries
  • Maple syrup [optional]

In a large bowl, combine the flour, oats, almonds, baking powder and cinnamon. In another small bowl, mash the banana. Mix mashed banana with milk, egg, and almond extract. Pour liquid ingredients into dry and stir until smooth. Add berries.

Warm skillet over medium heat and coat with cooking spray. Measure 1/4 cup batter and pour onto skillet, spreading out to about 5 inches. Cook until golden brown, 2-3 min. per side. Serve with warm maple syrup.

Fall comes with some nice perks, like geeky utensils from Williams-Sonoma. It’s sad how excited I was to use this 😉

Nice inside

3 thoughts on “Fruity Fall Pancakes

Leave a Reply

