Ocean Cake, Flower Cupcakes, and a little Southern Hospitality

Whew, lord, it’s been a busy week! And it all started with a bottomless mimosa brunch in 96 degree weather at Southern Hospitality [I like to call it Southern Ho’], a place that’s known for its tasty brunch offerings like fried green tomatoes, chicken and waffles, and bacon bloody Marys.

Bitches be brunchin’ [Shana, Me, Sarah, and Shaunique]

Scallion Mac & Cheese

Fried Chicken Eggs Benedict

Snooty faces at Southern Ho’

Guuuuuurl

Then, tipsy and barefoot, it was time to bake some cakes and color some gum paste. I’m truly proud of myself for not slicing off a finger or just face-planting in a pile of cocoa…#I’llNeverBeAnAdult šŸ˜‰

I was asked to make some cupcakes for my coworker who had family coming into town for a party. She said to “make it summery and flowery” and something with strawberry. I also happen to know that this coworker loves chocolate, so I made some chocolate cupcakes with strawberry frosting, and some strawberry cupcakes with chocolate frosting. [To see the recipe for the strawberry cupcakes and strawberry frosting, see here, though I did have to stiffen up the strawberry frosting to get it to hold its shape for these cupcakes. For the chocolate cupcakes, see here. I’ll discuss the chocolate frosting in greater detail below.]

Chocolate cupcakes with strawberry frosting.

Strawberry cupcakes with chocolate frosting.

The big rose flowers were made with gum paste.

The tops of the other cupcakes are rolled fondant [to make sure people still got icing, though, I cored out the center of these cupcakes and filled with frosting, then topped with fondant].

I was also asked to make a cake for one of my favorite friend’s sister, who supposedly likes to look at my blog…and for that, I have to give Raishay’s sister, Rachel, a big shout out: thank you, lady, for appreciating my attempts at cake decorating and for, as pretty Raishay put it, having “enough faith to let you decorate however you want…as long as it’s blue.”Ā  šŸ˜‰ Rachel also asked that the cakes be chocolate and the frosting chocolate hazelnut.

Raishay seemed interested in my new photo editing app’s abilities, so I gave us a super classy disco rainbow star [Raishay, me]

Denny makes fun of me for my instagram-esque photos, so he got zapped by my new app [Denny, Raishay]

I was hesitant about the frosting, because, besides Nutella, which is extremely unstable for frosting [see here], I didn’t really know how to make frosting hazelnut. However, after consulting my Milk cookbook, it seems that Hazelnut-Praline paste will do the trick–and it truly is a miracle worker! Here’s the recipe [makes enough to frost 24 cupcakes or the ocean cake layers mentioned below]:

Equipment:

  • Double boiler
  • Electric mixer
  • Whisk

Ingredients:

  • 8 oz. semi-sweet chocolate, chopped
  • 4 oz. milk chocolate, chopped
  • 4 Tbl. heavy cream
  • 4 Tbl. unsalted butter
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 3 cups confectioner’s sugar, sifted
  • 1 (11 oz.) can Hazelnut-Praline paste
  • 1/4 cup dutch-process cocoa
  • 1/4 cup regular cocoa powder
  • 1 Tbl. Frangelico liqueur

Melt chocolate, cream, and butter in a double boiler over simmering water. Stir until melted and smooth. Remove from heat and whisk in sour cream and vanilla. Then whisk in 1/2 cup confectioner’s sugar, then the Hazelnut paste. Using an electric mixer, beat in the rest of the confectioner’s sugar, a 1/2 cup at a time, then the two cocoa powders, then the Frangelico. Ta-da!

I’ve been doing a lot of flowers and pink things lately, and as much as I love to be a girl, I welcomed the chance to do something less Monet and more Van Gogh [I know I sound lofty, but go with me here]. I love all things sea, ocean, and water, so blue seemed like a great backdrop.

The bottom layer is (2) 7″ chocolate cake rounds, (1) 5″ and (1) 4″.

The blue starfish was made with colored modeling chocolate [to color, use candy coloring, not gel paste].

The decorations were made with fondant, edible dusts, and royal icing.

Thank you to all the wonderful friends and fam this week for good times and awesome support. Love you, guys šŸ˜‰

2 thoughts on “Ocean Cake, Flower Cupcakes, and a little Southern Hospitality

  1. While all this food looks extremely scrumptious, i find it hard to believe there is anything more delectable than the chef!

  2. Pingback: Professional Bakery-Style Chocolate Chip Cookies | Baking Things

Leave a Reply

