Blueberry Oatmeal Bran Muffins

“Mmmm. Nothing says delicious like bran”–I know this is the sarcastic thought in your head, but I wouldn’t post these here if they were crap, scout’s honor.

Last week when I was in San Diego for the cluster F- conference of the year, I had exactly 30 seconds to find breakfast or lunch (it was usually one or the other), and though the giant cinnamon bun next to the bacon, egg, and cheese panini looked beautiful, I went for the brown & dumpy bran muffin; for some reason, this looked even better.

As I sat there by the glass wall overlooking the tiki bar/pool area of the hotel I wouldn’t be fortunate enough to experience, trying to discover exactly how much muffin I could shove into my mouth without offending the people next to me, I was also deep in thought about my choice. After the 15 seconds it took to finish off the muffin, wipe crumbs from my blouse, put my heels back on, and pray to god there was a bathroom in the lobby, I realized I was in need of sustenance–the kind that fills you up and keeps you, well, um, “cleansed” as it were.

Since coming back to D.C., I’ve missed these overpriced Starbucks bran muffins that I felt so health-conscious and, therefore, pretentious ordering. But I also realized it doesn’t have to be dry, brown hell, either. Throw in some other stuff like blueberries, cinnamon, and applesauce, and you could almost place it next to the giant cinnabun…almost 😉

What’s also great about these little go-getters is that they keep you satisfied until lunch and are roughly about 90-110 calories per muffin.; meaning, you can then have the cheeseburger you really want for lunch. And I PROMISE you, they’re delicious.

[Makes 12 muffins]

Equipment:

  • Muffin pan or 12 muffin cups

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup quick cooking oats
  • 1/4 cup wheat bran [I use Bob’s Red Mill Unprocessed Wheat Bran]
  • 1 1/2 cups wheat flour [I use King Arthur Flour’s White Whole Wheat Flour]
  • 1/2 cup white sugar or same amount of pourable Splenda [this is the kind that matches measurements equal to sugar]
  • 1 tbl. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. low sodium salt
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp. King Arthur Flour’s Fiori di Sicilia [a citrus and vanilla flavoring; optional]
  • 3/4 cup 2% milk
  • 1/2 cup applesauce [I use berry applesauce]
  • 1 egg or 2 egg whites
  • 1 cup blueberries or any in-season berries or fruit
  • 1/8 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Lightly grease the muffin cups or line pan with liners.

In a large bowl, mix the oats, bran, flour, sugar, salt, and baking powder. Stir in the milk, applesauce, egg, vanilla, and any other flavorings or extracts, until just moist. Fold in the blueberries and scoop batter into the prepared muffin cups.

Mix the brown sugar and cinnamon together. Sprinkle on top of the muffins. Bake 20 min. or until a tester comes out clean.

* Keeps about one week tightly sealed or refrigerated.

Leave a Reply

