Gingersnap Mocha Cappuccino Nutella Pumpkin Pie (Whew!)

Mmm fall sleepiness. Whether it’s because of the cooler temps, the fact that I just cleaned my down comforter, or I’m getting older, fall makes me feel snuggly–over-sized sweater wearing, hot mug of cider holding, going to bed at 9:30 p.m. like my grandmother kind of cozy.

Part of this lifestyle changeover involves going to Starbucks on a weekly basis and drinking overpriced, over-sugared, but damn good seasonal drinks, such as “Better-Than-You-Know-What Salted Caramel Mocha,” “I-Just-Cried-From-Happiness Pumpkin Spice Latte,” and “Diabetic-Coma-But-It-Was-Worth-It Double Chocolate Hot Cocoa.” And I suppose it’s this obsession with seasonal rarities that also urged me to buy Jif’s new Mocha Cappuccino Hazelnut Spread [There's no peanut butter in it. It's basically just Nutella flavored like chocolate coffee].

But besides slathering my pretzels in it while wrapped in my blanket watching Revolution and yawning because it’s already 8 p.m., I couldn’t really think of how I’d incorporate my find into my baking until I read an amazing post by Sally’s Baking Addiction, a blog from a talented lady who bakes 24/7 and loves fall just as much as I do.

This pie is smooth, creamy, and combines a lot of flavors–like ginger, nutmeg, espresso, hazelnut, chocolate, and pumpkin–together seamlessly, yet the pumpkin taste is still the star of this luscious dessert.

Sally’s recipe has Nutella swirled into the pumpkin pie, but I thought it might be even better to kick that up a bit with some mocha cappuccino…and some quick homemade chocolate whipped cream…with a side of salted caramel hot chocolate from [who else] Starbucks.

Eyes starting to close in bliss in 5…4…3…2…mmmmm ;)

Don’t be afraid to eat pie for breakfast. My dad always said that there has to be some sort of nutrient hiding in there somewhere.

To find Sally’s recipe for Nutella Pumpkin Pie, click here. There are all kinds of new hazelnut spreads on the market, so go crazy and experiment with your favorite.

The lineup

One of my fall favorites is my Emile Henry pie dish. Snooty? Yes. Worth every penny? Yes.

One of Sally’s tips is to make sure you don’t make the crust too high around the rim. This is the height you should aim for, otherwise the cookie crust might burn.

I like to let my pie cool to almost rm. temp., then place in the fridge overnight to let the flavors meld and the pie settle.

Homemade Chocolate Whipped Cream [Makes about 2 cups]

Equipment:

  • Electric Mixer
  • Sifter

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups heavy cream
  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar, sifted
  • 1/4 cup dutch process cocoa [I use KAF's Double-Dutch Dark Cocoa] or regular cocoa powder, sifted

Combine powdered sugar and cocoa in a bowl.

In a large bowl, beat cold heavy cream about 1 1/2 min. on medium-high speed until thickened. On low speed, beat in the sugar/cocoa mix 2 Tbl. at a time. *Note: Don’t beat too much, otherwise the cream will be too stiff! If it starts to get stiff while beating with the electric beaters, just mix in the rest of the sugar/cocoa with a spatula.

Keep whipped cream refrigerated and tightly covered. Keeps about 7 days.

My “Book lovers never go to bed alone” mug has been with me since college :)

3 thoughts on “Gingersnap Mocha Cappuccino Nutella Pumpkin Pie (Whew!)

  1. Pingback: A foodie’s guide to Fall « Poems, Prayers, Promises & Politics

Leave a Reply

